Devon Kuhnle
City of Paso Robles


Rafael Cornejo
CSG Consultants
Vice President


Mark Sadowski
City of San Luis Obispo


Dena Paschke
City of Lompoc


Bill Fitzpatrick
Cal Poly San Luis Obispo
Immediate Past President

CALBO is a nonprofit 501(c)6 organization dedicated to promoting public health and safety in building construction through responsible legislation, education and building code development.

Year President Vice President Treasurer Secretary Past President
2018 Charles Dickey Bruce St. John Elizabeth Szwabowski Marisela Moreno Bill Fitzpatrick
2017 Bill Fitzpatrick Charles Dickey Charles Dickey Bruce St. John Elizabeth Szwabowski
2016 Elizabeth Szwabowski Lori Wilson Dave Muehlhausen Ben Ross Bryan Spain
2015 Bryan Spain Rafael Cornejo Lori Wilson Elizabeth Szwabowski Tina Dye
2014 Tina Dye Bryan Spain Joseph Lease Lori Wilson Elizabeth Szwabowski

Year President Vice President
Secretary Training
2013 Howie Conroy Tina Dye Tina Dye Howie Conroy
2012 Elizabeth Szwabowski Howie Conroy Elizabeth Szwabowski Howie Conroy
2011 Brian Cowen Elizabeth Szwabowski Howie Conroy  Howie Conroy
2010 David Muehlhausen Brian Cowen Rustin Messenger David Muehlhausen
2009 Johnathan Hurst David Muehlhausen Kari Scamara David Muehlhausen
2008 Sylvia Aldana Johnathan Hurst David Muehlhausen David Muehlhausen
2007 Don Moore Sylvia Aldana Johnathan Hurst Elizabeth
2006 Robert Marshall Don Moore Sylvia Aldana Johnathan Hurst
2005 Ken Forman Chris Hansen* Robert Marshall *Chris never took office as president
2004 Forest Wermuth Steve Nodel*
Ken Forman
Larry Boyd*
Robert Marshall
* Steve stepped down; Ken took his place; Larry stepped down; Robert took his place
2003 Mark Matson Forest Wermuth Mike Cardona*
Steve Nodel
*Cardona left Steve took his place
2002 Rick Curtze Mark Matson Forest Wermuth
2001 Craig Fraki Rick Curtze Mark Matson
2000 Hal Hannula Craig Fraki Rick Curtze
1999 Steve Perkins Hal Hannula Craig Fraki
1998 Clyde Gains Steve Perkins Hal Hannula
1997 Mike Whitaker Clyde Gains Steve Perkins
1996 John Kearns Mike Whitaker Clyde Gains
1995 Jeff Keough John Kearns Mike Whitaker
1994 Jeff Keough John Kearns
1993 Charles Evans Jeff Keough
1992 Fred Wilke
1991 Bill Wittmeyer Charles Evans
1990 Roy Harthorn Bill Wittmeyer Charles Evans
1989 Phil Bunn Roy Harthorn Bill Wittmeyer
1988 Nick Andrade Phil Bunn Roy Harthorn
1987 Elizabeth Szwabowski Nick Andrade Phil Bunn
1986 Al Wedderburn Elizabeth
Nick Andrade
1985 Steve Hicks Al Wedderburn Elizabeth Szwabowski
1984 Bill Windroth
1983 Phil Wachtel
1982 Anna Plein
1981 Frank Breckenridge
1980 Bert Wilder
1979 Robert Hantke
1978 J.R. “Nick” Nicklas
1977 Eric Pekkenen
1976 Dave Warburton
1975 Bill Lacoste
1974 Bill Lacoste
1973 Lee Kannenberg
1972 Jack Kellerman
1971 Charlie Clarck
1970 O.F. “Zee” Ziebarth
1969 J.R. “Nick” Nicklas
1968 L.C. Cliff Davis
1967 Bill Wade
1966 Jack Cudmore
1965 Hugh Evans
1964 Art Welkie


The International Code Council (ICC) is a membership association dedicated to building safety and fire prevention. The ICC develops the codes used to construct residential and commercial buildings, including homes and schools. Most U.S. cities, counties and states that adopt codes choose the International Codes developed by the ICC.